Pamela Sneed

POET    WRITER    ACTOR

Publications

LINCOLN

Coming Soon.

IMAGINE BEING MORE AFRAID
​OF FREEDOM THAN SLAVERY


Imagine Being More Afraid of Freedom Than Slavery is lyrical and provocative, humorous and potent as it tackles both personal and contemporary issues of enslavement, sexuality, psychological trauma, and physical abuse. From beginning to end some of these poems chart the journey that is life and one woman's cycle of dependency as she recovers her lost identity.


Thematically, it is bound by a writer's search for love and fight for freedom, drawing on the spirit and will of Harriet Tubman, the image of the bloated body of Emmett Till, the bombing of Philadelphia Move, and lesbian love. In the tradition of June Jordan and Sapphire, Pamela Sneed presents an in-your-face, powerful, and stirring debut.

BEST MONOLOGUES FROM 
​BEST AMERICAN SHORT PLAYS  VOL.1


Best Monologues from Best American Short Plays, Volume One is a must for actors of all ages beginners as well as seasoned veterans and belongs in the libraries of all theater teachers looking for new and exciting material for their students. The monologues in this volume are excerpted from the outstanding series Best American Short Plays, an archive of works from many of the best playwrights active today, presenting taut, engaging single-character pieces that range from zany comedy to poignant tales of love and loss. Each monologue includes a short introduction and a reference identifying where to locate the entire play, should anyone choose to pursue production beyond the monologue. Long or short, serious or not, this collection is must-have material for anyone interested in acting. The monologues also succeed as excellent companions for the casual reader.

KONG


Pamela Sneed offers readers a tremendous gift in the collection KONG And Other Works. These poems are histories, written but mainly unwritten, showing how social movements constructed around race, gender, and sexuality impact the individual. It is about current events, family, ancestors and pioneers, healing, hope, and love. KONG shifts effortlessly between the comedic and the critical while never losing sight of the author's aim: to offer a work that is transformative, intellectual, emotional, and spiritual.


Primarily inspired by Sneed's two trips to Ghana, West Africa, KONG uses both the film King Kong and the journey of an African man kidnapped from his homeland as metaphors. At its heart, KONG is a resilient protest work, and a luminescent and universal call for freedom.

Gorgeous in her lack of restraint, Sneed has a voice... 
that sounds like a cello, but a cello that’s interested
only in dissonance, ​not the sound of mourning.
 -Hilton Als, The New Yorker

Sneed is one of the most dynamic exponents
​of poetry and performance working in the US today. 
 - Coco Fusco